Help

Forum >> Help >> Range/Speed, Growth Rate   Bookmark This Forum Thread

Post ID Date & Time Game Date Function
Endrju

Inactive

Broken Bat Baseball
"Speed is part of range, but not the only thing that affects it."
Hmmm... You make it sound as if speed had impact on defensive plays. Logically, it should, especially in the outfield. But looking at the manual, it says nothing about speed actually being used in the outfield, the only relevant stat is range.

When I started playing here I looked at my fastest guys and put them in OF. Then I read manual two more times and figured, that speed doesn't matter. I only look at range now.
Seca

Waterloo Dinosaurs
Legends

Broken Bat Baseball
So to understand correctly Seca, you are indicating the skill levels which indicate a player increased in a skill level, are not based on anything other than a scouts report? Any increase in training skills are not based on factual information but rather based on a scouts perceived observation throughout his career

The player card is a scouting report. It is based on actual information Ie., if a player improves through training, this is observed and reflected.

But what is shown may not be entirely accurate. Not just the skills but the overall potential bar may be off. The verbal scouting may be off*. In all these cases, it isn't off by much, but there is some uncertainty. For many managers the player card isn't the whole story. A player's actual performance should be considered alongside.

* - some may say verbal scouting is completely accurate and the implied ranges are broader. Same idea, just phrased differently.

In my previous example the two (speed/range) go hand in hand. Can't affect one, without affecting the other. You could add a third measurement such as agility, then affect the outcome.

There isn't any need for agility. As you've suggested, its baked into range. Range is a more useful skill to have.